top of page
Barley, SUMIRE MOCHI

Barley, SUMIRE MOCHI

Very purple awns! Beautiful, ornamental, and useful too… this is another six-row hulless barley, which grains are of glutinous type. The seed of this variety has a waxy endosperm, a quality that seems to make it a nice potential parent as it is being used right now into breeding programs. From Japan; originally an old Manchurian variety. Said to contain more β-glucan than many other common barley varieties.

Hulless also means to us that it’s easy to thresh the grains clean from the hulls- no dehuller or big equipment required. (To thresh clean, please see our other hulless barley descriptions that include more info).

 

Hordeum vulgare

 

min. 200 seeds/pkt Reg

min. 60 seeds/pkt Mini

Lot:2022

%germ. on latest test : 100 %

*LAST ONES AVAILABLE *

  • Notes

    Availability: we will be adding more as needed. Most items listed as OUT OF STOCK may only be temporarily unavailable - We will be adding more soon, unless *LAST ONES AVAILABLE * is mentioned.

     

    Our seeds are packaged by weight. The actual number of seeds indicated per packet may differ, but we do our best to include at least (generally more) the quantity mentioned. The quantity depends on the seed germination scores so as to include the right number of viable seeds.

  • Seed Starting

    Direct seeded in early Spring just as the ground has thawed. Germinates best in cool soils.

C$3.50Price

top of page
Orge SUMIRE MOCHI

Orge SUMIRE MOCHI

Ses épis sont superbes, très pourpres! Jolie, ornementale et utile aussi… il s’agit d’une autre variété d’orge nue à six rangs; ses grains sont apparemment de type glutineux. Les grains possèdent un endosperme cireux, une qualité qui la rendent attrayante comme parent potentiel puisqu’en ce moment elle est utilisée dans divers programmes d’amélioration. Originaire du Japon, elle aurait d'abord été une ancienne variété mandchoue. L’on dit qu’elle contient plus de β-glucan que la plupart des variétés communes d'orge.
À grains nus signifie aussi, pour nous, qu’il est bien plus facile d’extraire les grains des écales, qui tombent d’elles-mêmes lors du battage; aucun gros équipement spécialisé requis! (Pour les battre soi-même à la maison, voir nos autres descriptions d’orges nues où le processus est plus en détail).

Hordeum vulgare

min. 200 semences/sachet Rég.
min. 60 semences/sachet Mini
Lot:2022
%germ. au test récent : 100 %

*derniers sachets disponibles*

  • Notes

    Quantité disponible: indique le nombre de paquets de semences ensachés prêts au moment présent. Nous en ajouterons au fur et à mesure que nous ensachons; ils peuvent donc être non disponibles temporairement. Les variétés épuisées (pour la saison) seront dans ce cas indiquées.

    Nos semences sont vendues (ensachées) au poids; le nombre de semences par sachet est à titre indicatif, mais nous nous assurons qu’il y en a au moins la quantité spécifiée, parfois plus. La quantité indiquée est en fonction du nombre de semences viables déterminées au test de germination.

  • Infos Semis

    Semé directement tôt au printemps dès le dégel. Germe mieux en sol frais.

3,50C$Prix